Quitter

Book #2 is in the books! Pun intended.

Quitter

For February, I decided to read the book Quitter by Jon Acuff. It was more of a whim read than something I had been looking forward to for a long time. I started following the author @jonacuff on Twitter, and he often posted excerpts from the book. It intrigued me. So I bought it on a discounted website and planned it for this month. I read this book in 18 days. That’s got to be some kind of record for me. Needless to say, I thoroughly enjoyed it.

The whole theme of the book is “Closing the gap between your day job and your dream job.” Which, as most of you probably know, is something that I would definitely say I’m striving after. Believe it or not, my dream job is not nannying 3 boys 5 days a week. It might be close, but that’s definitely not it. Who am I kidding? Nannying was one of the jobs that was furthest down on my list. But sometimes you just have to take what opportunities come your way when you have student loans up to your eye balls and the bills that have to be paid.

All that goes to say, my degree is in Women’s Ministry and Biblical Studies. What drove me to that field was a heart for teenage girls. I want them to fully know their identity in Christ and allow Him to satisfy every single ounce of who they are. I feel like it has been a neglected area of ministry for far too long and I wanted to educate myself on how to reach that black hole. However, I don’t know how to even get started there. I feel like since I graduated, the Lord has revealed even more things that I’m passionate about. Godly marriages, healthy lifestyles, purity, and even more recently, the hot topic issue of abortion. As I pray through how the Lord would have me to follow Him in these different areas of ministry, I know I have to obey Him where I am currently. And currently I am a full time nanny for 3 boys, ages 4, 5, and 7. And until I’m grateful for that job and do my absolute best at it, He will not let me move on.

Reading this book was very helpful to me. It helped me to realize the importance of working at my day job longer than I would like. It helped me understand that pursuing my dream does not mean throwing caution to the wind. It means striving for excellence in my day job and slowly working toward my dream, or taking steps toward my dream job in my spare time. If I become a professional Quitter in trying to find that “perfect dream job” out there, I’ll never be satisfied and I’ll probably be a terrible employee if I ever do have the opportunity to work in my preferred area of ministry.

If you’ve ever used the phrase, “I’m a __________, but I want to be a _________, ” I highly suggest picking up a copy of this book and applying the lessons from it. It will definitely start giving you hope towards making your dream a reality.

Also, he’s a hilarious writer. I literally laughed out loud throughout every chapter. Ask my husband.

Leave a Reply

