Our First Anniversary!

On June 10, Matt and I celebrated our first wedding anniversary! I was so excited for this day to arrive, mainly to get away for the weekend with my husband, but I’m not gonna lie, I was definitely looking forward to eating the top tier of our wedding cake too. We decided to spend the weekend in Helen, GA. This is where Matt proposed, as well as where we spent our wedding night, so it holds a special place in our hearts. We love the little town atmosphere and the simple life that we experience while we’re there.

We started our anniversary trip off right with lunch at Kani House. We LOVE this restaurant but absolutely cannot justify spending that much money except on special occasions and only for lunch. That’s how you do hibachi on a budget. Then we headed to Helen where we rented a cabin for the weekend. After getting settled in, we decided to stroll through the little town and pick up some yummy fudge to indulge in for the weekend.

And because I’m such a good wife, we spent the rest of the night watching the 7th game between the Miami Heat and Boston Celtics with the agreement that the TV would stay off on our actual anniversary.

Sunday morning, June 10th, we woke up to some serious rain falling on the tin roof of our cabin. If you know me relatively well, you know that I ADORE RAINY DAYS. I absolutely love them. I seriously woke up with the thought that the Lord let it rain ALL day on our anniversary as His personal anniversary gift to me. We took a stroll in the light rain to a local coffee shop where we sat by the window, drinking our pumpkin spice lattes (because everyone knows we need those year-round, not just in the fall), people watching and talking about the first year of our marriage. It was the most perfect way to start the day.

The rest of the day was spent strolling through town and just spending quality time together. It’s not every day you get the opportunity to slow down enough just to be together and not worry about having to be anywhere or do anything. That evening we got ready for dinner and got one of my favorite meals, chicken parmesan (what we ate the night we got engaged), ate our DELICIOUS wedding cake, and watched our wedding DVD. For the record, other than photography, having a videographer was probably the best money spent on our wedding. Those real life moments are priceless and I’m SO thankful to have a DVD to look back on every anniversary that really helps us recall the emotions and fun of that day.

All in all, it was a wonderful trip and I am SO grateful to God to be married to Matt Renney. I tell him every day that he is a gift from the Lord and I am so blessed being his wife. God was so gracious to me in allowing me to be married to such a servant hearted, gentle, kind, compassionate, hilarious, Jesus-loving man. The first year of marriage has been more of a blessing than I could have imagined it would be. But at the same time, it has revealed my selfish and sinful heart more than I ever wanted it to. I’ve learned so much, but the main thing God has taught me is that as good as marriage is, Jesus is ALWAYS better. Matt is a wonderful husband. Truly. But He will never compare to my Bridegroom. He will continually fall short, as will I, and so I am so thankful that we are in covenant with the covenant Maker and Keeper, the One who sustains us and enables us to love because He first loved us. Matt is a blessing, but Jesus is truly the only One who will ever satisfy every desire of my heart, and I’m so thankful to be learning this now. I’m so excited for the years to come, as the Lord allows, and I can’t wait to see what He has in store of us to experience together with Him.

One thought on “Our First Anniversary!

  1. Thanks for sharing…. I am so happy for you guys and can’t wait to share in the next 40 years or so of your lives. (I am hoping I will be alive that long, but I am sure you guys will be together way after I am gone from this earth!)

    Congrats on your Anniversary!
    Love you both.
    Aunt Linda

Leave a Reply

