Still waiting

About a week ago I posted on Facebook and twitter asking people to pray for me. I had an interview for a job I was really excited about! Other than that, I didn’t give any details just because I didn’t want to get anyone’s hopes up (or mine for that matter.)

It was for a non-profit organization in Cherokee county that focused on reaching the youth of Cherokee to help them finish their education, get off of drugs and alcohol, get them stable homes to live in and provide the tools necessary for them to acquire a job for themselves. It is absolutely a great organization that is truly making a difference in our community.

So I submitted my resume, made it past the first cut from 28 submitted resumes down to 5 people interviewing. The interview really did go well. I don’t think it could have gone any better. It is a small company with a small office staff and they opened up a completely new position (which is the one I was applying for.) The position is a full time, salaried position that would have offered benefits and great stability.

However, I write this to inform you all that I did not end up getting the job. Which should really upset and disappoint me, but for some reason I am completely at peace about it. What I’m about to say is going to sound like a defense mechanism because I didn’t get the job, but I say it with as pure of a heart as I know how. A few days after the interview I started getting a check in my spirit about if it was really where God wanted me. I didn’t know why and I couldn’t pinpoint why I was feeling the way I did, but I was oddly at peace if I were to receive the news that they chose someone else. Probably because I prayed about it so stinkin much and begged the Lord to make it clear to me in a very simple way, which He did. I’m thankful for the opportunity that I had to research and interview for that position, but I am equally thankful I did not get it if it was not the exact place God wanted me. I never want to base my decisions off of worldly wisdom because taking the job would make “sense” for me. I truly desire to listen intently to the Holy Spirit as He guides my every opportunity and gives me the choice to obey Him or not. Thankfully, this time, He made it easier on me and closed the door for me, making it obviously clear that that wasn’t His plan.

All that goes to say, thank you all SO much for praying for me. I know many of you were because you kept checking on me and asking how things went. It really is the best encouragement to have brothers and sisters in Christ who take mine and my family’s needs before the throne of grace and ask for wisdom from God on our behalf. I’m blessed by all of you and pray that I can offer the same encouragement as well.

With that being said, the job search continues! I have no idea what the Lord has in store for me, but I’m grateful to know that He has the perfect plan in His perfect timing, and I don’t have to understand. I just have to be quick to listen and ready to obey.

Leave a Reply

