Want vs. Contentment

I like stuff. I like clothes, shoes, accessories and gadgets. And even more recently added to the list is HOME DECOR! I absolutely LOVE home stuff. Furniture, paint, organizing systems, wall art, throw pillows, etc. You name it, and it’s probably on my giant “Home Wish List” on my phone. I think I’ve always known this about myself, but with the purchase of our first home, the desire to accumulate all this “stuff” has hit me full force, almost to the point where I feel blindsided by it. I genuinely want my house to feel organized and welcoming, and in my worldly mind, I feel like the more I can buy/DIY to help me in that endeavor, the better!

But here’s my problem. I know that no matter how much I buy or paint or decorate, it’s not going to satisfy my desire for “more.” And that’s the battle I’ve been feeling recently. I know there is nothing wrong with having a beautiful home or with owning material possessions. But I know there IS a problem when I let those material possessions own me. As Christians, we know we are to be content because God has given us more than we could ever ask or imagine in His Son, Jesus. And we also know that God has given us everything pertaining to life and godliness (2 Peter 1:3). Not to mention, we know that if the heavenly Father feeds the birds of the air and clothes the lilies of the field, which is alive today and tomorrow is gone, He will much more take care of our needs! (Matthew 6). But yet, we are still prone to worry and fret, even though our heavenly Father has NEVER neglected our needs.

Ergo, this battle of wanting more versus my striving for contentment ensues. So how do I combat these two opposing desires? One way for sure, is to practice gratefulness. The more I practice being thankful for all the things the Lord has given me and blessed me with that I do not deserve, the easier it becomes to let go of some of those material possessions because I realize how abundantly blessed I am. I have not mastered this. It is an ongoing battle. But I am grateful to God for bringing it to my attention that I may not be swept up in the “American Dream,” focusing on all the stuff and remembering all the riches that I have in Christ.

“But godliness is actually a means of great gain when accompanied by contentment. For we have brought nothing into the world, so we cannot take anything out of it either. If we have food and covering, with these we shall be content. But htose who want to get rich fall into temptation and a snare and many foolish and harmful desires which plunge men into ruin and destruction. For the love of money is a root of all sorts of evil, and some by longing for it have wandered away from the faith and pierced themselves with many griefs. But flee from these things, you man of God, and pursue righteousness, godliness, faith, love, perseverance and gentleness.” (1 Timothy 6:6-11)

proverbs30

[link to original image]

One thought on “Want vs. Contentment

  1. Great insight. Backed by scripture. As a 56 year old woman who has lived thru the need to constantly improve organization/home fashion, etc. (as much as my purse allowed), I can say you are right on target. I’m frugal/thrifty and only splurge on what makes my head spin. But. It’s too much. And I’m now staring at a LOT of sorting/purging. My advice is: don’t accumulate. Donate.
    You’re young- keep on the path. I love your photo taking idea. It is satisfying, I’ve done that too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

